Self Care Essentials

When the air masks drop down during your flight, what’s the first thing you’re supposed to do?

The health industry is booming and full of buzzwords and fads. The latest term that gets used a lot is ‘self care’. With mental health and well being becoming more and more recognized as equally as important as physical health, self care ย is about maintaining your mental well being by keeping your ‘glass full’ with whatever that may mean to you.

self care essentials

Self care is especially important for those who give a lot to others, parents, care givers, etc. You can’t give yourself fully to others and be there for them one hundred percent if you yourself are running on empty.

Self care can be as simple as making the conscience decision to go to bed early and give yourself lots of rest. Or it can be much more ritualistic and complexย by taking an entire day to partake in activities that bring you the most joy and relaxation.

Below are just a few of the ways that I take care of myself:

Meditate
Meditation is an amazing way to de-stress, gain perspective, and connect with yourself on a deeper level. Even if you’re not sure where to start or if meditating is for you, taking a quiet moment for yourself with a few deep breaths is great for resetting your mind.

Yoga
I love to do yoga at home with the kids. They love trying out the different poses with me. So even if I don’t always get to do this activity on my own its still a great way to give my body some love and stretch out that negative energy.

Music
Music can be so therapeutic on many different levels. I am definitely one of those people who’s mood can be greatly affected by music so when I’m in need of a little self care I love to put on some of my favourite, most upbeat music. Right now I’m really loving oldies from the 60s and 80s.

Dance
Another great benefit of listening to upbeat, happy music is dancing. It can be so fun to just dance around the house like no one is watching… I mean you’re in your house I would assume no one is watching lol! Another bonus to this self care option is that the kids love it too.

Journal
Journaling is a really great way to release negative thoughts, to get them out of your mind and onto paper. Its also great for recording and building upon positive thoughts as well.

Mask
Giving myself a mini-facial or applying a face mask is a great way to feel rejuvenated and refreshed. It doesn’t take long and it can be combined with other self care practices like reading, meditating, or watching your favourite movie.

Bath
This is probably my all-time favourite way to give myself a little self care. And it can combine several other methods I enjoy using. I like to light some candles, play relaxing music, put on a face mask and let whatever is stressing me out just melt away.

Today’s world is so much different from 20 or 30 years ago. We make ourselves so “busy” that we meet everyones needs before we meet our own. We need to start putting on our own air mask first so that we can be a better, more attentive, patient, person to those around us.

Leave a Reply

